Trust the Process

What would happen if we just let go?

Welcome to Creatives Anonymous, a weekly newsletter that explores what it means to be a modern-day creative. It inspires, encourages, and empowers readers to take back their creative power.

Was this email forwarded to you? Subscribe here.

For the next 12 weeks, I’m documenting my journey through The Artist’s Way (TAW). Each issue will focus on a takeaway I got from each week. 

Creative recovery is a marathon, not a sprint. We don’t just wake up one day and suddenly become a completely vulnerable, unblocked artist. In fact, for most of us, it’s a life-long journey that we struggle with. 

No matter where we’re on our creative journey, we won’t get anywhere unless we can trust the process. 

Trusting the creative process means letting go of perfectionism and getting out of our heads. Our logic brain fuels control, the same brain that breeds self-doubt and self-sabotage. It also brings out our inner skepticism, making us question whether going through the process is worth it. 

The more we try to control our creative recovery, the more arrogance we breed, which becomes a creative block. That said, creative recovery only works when we’re willing to relinquish control.

As an eldest daughter who deals with anxiety, I know how hard it is to let go of control (IYKYK). But when it comes to our creative recovery, we need to immerse ourselves in the process instead of resisting it. The more we resist it, the harder it becomes to find the results we’re looking for. 

Undoing the damage to our inner artist can take a long time, depending on how deeply rooted it is. But, it becomes easier when we give up control and give in to emotional vulnerability. 

Reacquainting ourselves with our inner artist is hard work. It means confronting a part of ourselves we didn’t even know we had. And that scares us. I think it’s why many who start TAW never finish. But we won’t ever see the results we want if we don’t put in the work. That means doing the morning pages, artist’s dates, and everything else. 

To let creativity flow organically, we have to let go of whatever is holding us back. When we give up control, we create a safe place of acceptance for our creativity to flourish. Instead of arrogance, we cultivate humility, keeping an open mind where we are willing to learn and take the first step toward recovery.  

A huge part of creative recovery is being brave enough to leave our comfort zone. We get so in our heads about doing it the “right way” that we don’t. There is no right way to be a creative. That’s the beauty of it—you’re thinking and putting things into existence out of thin air. 

So, who cares if your morning pages sound like word vomit? Arguably, that’s the point. Who cares if you draw nothing but stick figures the first time you take a pencil to paper? What matters is being brave enough to take the step in the first place. 

We are the only ones holding ourselves back from our highest creative state. 

Week 2 Findings

  • It only takes one small step to start. I inherited a vintage film camera from my cousins over Thanksgiving…last year. It took me until now to put batteries in it and determine if it worked. I had a blast taking it on my beach outing last weekend. 

  • We aren’t as far off from our younger selves as we think. I came across some of my old work last week, which made me realize that I wasn’t as misaligned with myself as I thought. It also inspired some design work I’m doing for my business. 

  • We’re all going through the same struggles. Last week, I launched an Instagram group chat for anyone going through/starting TAW to keep each other accountable and cheer each other on (if you want to join, follow me on IG @brighteyescreative and message me, and I’ll add you). Creative recovery isn’t something you need to do alone, and it’s a lot easier when you have people on the journey with you. 

Last week’s artist date(s): Spending time sketching in the evening, playing with my film camera, designing graphics for some of my work projects

CREATIVE CORNER

  • 🎞️ What I’m Consuming: I learned that Cobra Kai is returning for a sixth season, so I rewatched the entire series in anticipation of it dropping this week. IMO, it’s one of the best sequel shows/movies I’ve seen. 

  • 💡 What I’m Loving: I went to Madrona Beach last weekend and swam in Lake Washington. 10/10 will be making this a thing for the rest of the summer.

  • 🎨 What I’m Working On: Experimenting with some new recipes that use the herbs I’m growing in my patio garden.

  • 💭 Weekly Musing:

The truth of life has little to do with it’s quality. The quality of life is in proportion, always, to the capacity for delight . The capacity for delight is the gift of paying attention.

Julia Cameron, The Artist’s Way

Thank you 💕

If you liked this newsletter, I’d love it if you could forward it to someone who you think would like it, too!

I’m so grateful for all of your support!

Alexa Phillips is a writer, brand strategist, and multi-passionate creative. She is the founder and Chief Brand Architect at Bright Eyes Creative, a creative studio that helps consultants, service providers, and coaches monetize their zone of genius and creativity through courses, content, and productized offers.

Where to find me: