Who Are Your Creative Muses?

You’re only as creative as the people you surround yourself with

Welcome to Creatives Anonymous, a weekly newsletter that explores what it means to be a modern-day creative. It inspires, encourages, and empowers readers to take back their creative power.

Was this email forwarded to you? Subscribe here.

We’ve all heard the phrase, “You become like the five people you hang out with the most.” 

It’s no secret that the people we hang out and associate with the most influence us, everything from interests to our word choice.

But they also impact our creativity. 

The people we hang out with greatly impact our creative work. They can be our muses, inspiration, accountability buddies, and cheerleaders. 

I’ve been blessed to be surrounded by so many amazing, creative people, from my friends and family to my professional peers. They come from all walks of life, work in many different industries, and have strong points of view and perspectives. 

They are the best people to talk to and brainstorm with. They force me to spend time on my creative work. They energize and excite me to take on new projects or give me the much-needed breakthrough I’m looking for. They have the most profound ideas and perspectives that force me to stretch my own thinking. 

Most of all, they are the ones who make my work better. The people in my life challenge me to become a more critical thinker, to improve my skills, and to see things through a different lens. I wouldn’t be the writer, creator, or thinker I am today if it weren’t for these people (If I’m going to be honest, they inspire many of the topics I write about in this newsletter). 

They are also the best teachers, teaching me new skills, tips, and tricks that I can use to improve my work (there’s nothing more humbling than learning something new in an area you already thought you were proficient in). Their skills make me jealous in the best way possible, pushing me to improve my skills so I might get on their level someday. 

Lastly, they are also my biggest cheerleaders. Putting your work out for the world to see is one of the scariest, most vulnerable experiences we can have because we share a part of our inner world and subject it to the outside world. It takes a lot of courage to be creative, and you need people in your corner who will show up for you and cheer you on, whether it’s reading your writing, attending your play, or cheering on your music (That said, if you have creative friends, please support their work—it means so much to them).

The key to becoming a better creative is to surround yourself with people who are different from you. Maybe they grew up differently, are in a different career field, or have completely different viewpoints from you. 

These people will improve your work and see a different perspective and worldview from what you’re used to. They’ll force you to approach the world more open-mindedly and consider all perspectives and realities. If all you do is hang out with people who see the world the same way that you do, you won’t ever be challenged to look at it differently. 

I recently saw this video on TikTok in which the creator said the best people are the ones who are an “acquired taste.” I 100% agree. People might write off these people before they get to know them, but once they do, they realize just how cool they actually are. These people have the coolest hobbies and backgrounds and are the best human beings. 

They are also the best creatives. 

It’s the people who have an acquired taste who are the best creatives. They are the weirdest and most authentic people in the best way possible. They zig left when the rest of us zag right. When you find these people, don’t ever let them go because they will be the ones who completely change how you look at the world around you. And you need them to make your creative work better. 

So if you want to become a better creative, surround yourself with more creatives—more people who are an acquired taste and inspire you and make you want to be better at your craft. You won’t regret it. 

To my friends, family, mentors, and peers reading this newsletter, I’m truly grateful for your inspiration and influence on my creative work. I wouldn’t be where I am if it weren’t for you, so thank you 🫶

CREATIVE CORNER

  • 🎞️ What I’m Consuming: I watched The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes over the weekend and love how Suzanne Collins expanded the Hunger Games world. I also thought it did a nice job portraying Snow’s negative character arc.

  • 💡 What I’m Loving: I bought this desk pad that’s essentially just a giant paper pad. It’s been great for scribbling quick ideas or notes throughout the day.

  • 🎨 What I’m Working On: I’ve shared this on a few of my social channels but I’m starting a podcast this summer (more details coming soon!) so I’ve been working on mapping out the premise and strategy.

  • 💭 Weekly Musing:

Don’t ever think because you’re different you’re wrong.

Tsukiyama

Thank you 💕

If you liked this newsletter, I’d love it if you could forward it to someone who you think would like it, too!

I’m so grateful for all of your support!